Logo Ver sur Mer
Logo Ver-sur-Mer Print

The church of St Martin



You walk into a church in the late eleventh century (redesigned especially in the nineteenth century) which depended on the chapter of the cathedral until the Revolution .

church

The entrance (1) is surmounted by a stone platform covered with wood and divided into three areas : a central entrance vestibule and two side parts each having a staircase.

The Tribune, which was a nice overview of the nave and choir, features :

A bas-relief representing, according to legend, Saint Gerbold reaching England in seventh century, neck chained to a millstone. This millstone floated miraculously to Ver-sur-Mer. He became bishop of Bayeux 687.

Two statues of the nineteenth century : south, Saint Martin, north, Saint Gerbold.

Two altar paintings are in the early nineteenth century, one represents Resurrection (copying work of Carl Van Loo engraved 1755) and the other Agony of Christ.

In the nave, on either side of the inlet, two stone confessionals that were once joined to the facade were replaced on the front of the rostrum.

The baptismal font dating from the nineteenth century and the font are veined marble.

The disaster 6 June 1944, The church was rebuilt in part with the help of Americans, to commemorate the landing of Byrd. You will see the black and white tiles, checkerboard evoking the parish property of the building in the modern era, while large white tiles and slabs reveal the small black monastic property.

All around the nave, the Way of the Cross (2) represents the cycle of the Passion (oil painting on canvas – late nineteenth century). A model of four-masted ship, the “Stella Maris” (street name seafarers home or stopover for sailors) was provided by two marine Newfoundland as a votive offering (1936).

nefThe ten windows of the nave (1948-59) are signed to G. Answer, master glassmaker in Bayeux.
Find by observing

  • Saint Gerbold arriving on the bay
  • St. Therese of Lisieux Bay
  • Resurrection of St. Lazare Bay
  • Blessed Poulain Delaunay Bay
  • Le Sermon on the Montagne (Christ and fish)
  • Jesus in the Temple (action pastorale : the teaching and practice Christ blesses the children)
  • Jésus et Marie-Madeleine
  • Death of St. Martin
  • Saint Martin and the Leper
  • Supper with Simon (rite of purification).

L'arc triomphal (3) is painted from the late nineteenth century four scenes depicted Calvary, the Passion, the Holy Women at the Tomb, Apparition Madeleine.

The Lady Chapel (4) nineteenth century, located in the south transept, is furnished with an altar of the twentieth century. The altarpiece oak and white marble tabernacle of the eighteenth century are framed by Ionic columns and topped with flower garlands and fire pots (torches plaster or stone).
St. Joseph's Chapel fourteenth century (5) located in the north arm, has a secondary altar topped by a statue of Saint Joseph (Nineteenth century) and an altarpiece of the eighteenth century topped with Corinthian pilasters and fire pots.
vitrail2At the crossing (6), all with two stools and a chair to celebrate Dante's form of the nineteenth century and the bells (bronze).

The choir (7) has two windows of Sagot signed in 1933 and 1934:
Annunciation with God the Father, David et Hãîé
Marriage of the Virgin with Saint Joseph (an appearance, the door of a city, a fortified tower, the tables of the law, a seven-branched candelabrum).
In the center : the Sacred Heart ruling the nations, window offered by the American family Dewey during the reconstruction, wishing for peace between nations. Note the American and French crests top of the window.

The imposing veined marble tabernacle is closed with a bronze door adorned with a mystical lamb and stars.

At the bottom of the choir, a Charity of St. Martin (equestrian statue of the fifteenth century) St. Martin still appears soldier and catechumen sharing his cloak with a beggar.

The entire altar dating from XVIlle century was dismantled during the work of post-war. It remains paneling (partially reassembled in the sacristy).
The west side (8) was revised. The porch triple arches, the tympanum decorated with a bas-relief “Charity of St. Martin”, is crowned with two arches and a skylight in the front facade. La nef, revised in 1865, spans three courses span the foundations of the old nave of the eleventh century one ship and unit spike (stones fishbone).

The magnificent campanile (tour clocher) the eleventh century (9) is isolated from the rest of the building in the Italian manner.
The choir of the twelfth century (10) has on its south wall of strange windows sheltering reminders, relics and votive carved beads. An urn is embedded in the wall of the south chapel choir. The wall is pierced by twin lancets simple and recent.
La sacristie (11), built 1842, is attached to the flat bed. 11 The north chapel dates from the fourteenth century.
Grimacing heads, crossbones, chat, barrel emphasize the entablature or cornice with their monstrous figure.

The bell tower
If a church was the setting of the divine presence, it was also the show. All orders outside the sanctuary competed for this purpose.
But what pleased the beginning of the second millennium, it was the conquest of the sky with towers and steeples. It was a great rivalry. Huge figures should catch the eye of the traveler as the laborers in the countryside. By them, God reminded the attention of Christians.

Not far from the dungeon, the tower wore the pride of the village community.
Here is a huge quadrangular bell tower of the late twelfth century, provided a staircase from the fifteenth century. Separated from the rest of the building, it is pierced by many holes bearers to the delight of pigeons. These holes are also known traces of scaffolding “jars dovecote”. The elapse between each one bearing scaffolding gap is a man's height.
The tower has five floors, the last three, recessed relative to the other, give the building its original profile and tapered. It most commonly found in Bessin, three-storey towers built in the center of the church. The two lower floors are massive.
The base is decorated with flat buttresses and the first floor of a gallery of blind arcades, ornament identical to Saint-Loup Off, Saint-André de Vierville, St. Peter Huppain and many other places still Bessin.
The top three floors repeat the same arrangement of arched windows twin by a central column with geometric decoration. The cover is a pyramid stone (coronation same Thaon). Like most tricks, decoration and openings rise from floor to floor.


Ver-sur-mer | https://www.versurmer.fr
Site creation : WebocubeWebocube, design and communication agency in Caen

Logo Ver sur Mer
Logo Ver-sur-mer Print

L’église St Martin



Vous entrez dans une église de la fin du XIe siècle (remaniée notamment au XIXe siècle) qui dépendait du chapitre de la cathédrale jusqu’à la Révolution .

eglise

L’entrée (1) est surmontée d’une tribune en pierre revêtue de bois et divisée en trois espaces : un vestibule d’entrée central et deux pièces latérales comportant chacune un escalier.

La tribune, de laquelle on a une belle vue d’ensemble de la nef et du choeur, comporte :

Un bas-relief qui représente, selon la légende, Saint Gerbold parvenant d’Angleterre au Vlle siècle, le cou enchaîné à une meule de moulin. Cette meule se mit à flotter miraculeusement jusqu’à Ver-sur-Mer. Il devint évêque de Bayeux en 687.

 Deux statues du XIXe siècle : au sud, Saint Martin, au nord, Saint Gerbold.

Deux tableaux d’autel sont du début du XIXe siècle, l’un représente La Résurrection (copie d’oeuvre de Carl Van Loo gravée en 1755) et l’autre L’Agonie du Christ.

Dans la nef, de part et d’autre de l’entrée, deux confessionnaux de pierre qui étaient autrefois accolés à la façade ont été replacés sur le devant de la tribune.

Les fonts baptismaux datant du XIXe siècle ainsi que le bénitier sont en marbre veiné.

Sinistrée le 6 juin 1944, l’église fut reconstruite en partie avec l’aide des Américains, en souvenir de l’amerrissage de Byrd. Vous observerez le carrelage noir et blanc, le damier évoquant la propriété paroissiale de l’édifice à l’époque moderne, alors que les grandes dalles blanches et les petites dalles noires révèlent la propriété conventuelle.

Tout autour de la nef, le chemin de Croix (2) représente le cycle de la Passion (peinture à l’huile sur toile – fin XIXe siècle). Une maquette de bateau à quatre mâts, le « Stella Maris » (nom d’une maison des gens de mer ou foyer d’escale pour marins) fut offerte par deux marins terre-neuviens en ex-voto (1936).

nefLes dix verrières de la nef (1948-59) sont signées de G. Sagot, maître verrier à Bayeux.
Retrouvez en les observant

  • Saint Gerbold arrivant sur la baie
  • Sainte Thérèse de Lisieux sur la baie
  • La Résurrection de saint Lazare sur la baie
  • Bienheureux Poulain Delaunay sur la baie
  • Le Sermon sur la Montagne (Christ et poisson)
  • Jésus au Temple (action pastorale : le Christ pratique l’enseignement et bénit les enfants)
  • Jésus et Marie-Madeleine
  • Mort de saint Martin
  • Saint Martin et le lépreux
  • Le Repas chez Simon (rite de purification).

L’arc triomphal (3) est peint depuis la fin du XIXe siècle de quatre scènes figurant le Calvaire, la Passion, les saintes Femmes au tombeau, l’Apparition à Madeleine.

La chapelle de la Vierge (4) du XIXe siècle, sise dans le bras sud du transept, est garnie d’un autel du XXe siècle. Le retable en chêne et le tabernacle en marbre blanc du XVIIIe siècle sont encadrés par des colonnes ioniques et garnis de guirlandes de fleurs et de pots à feu (flambeaux de plâtre ou de pierre).
La chapelle Saint-Joseph du XlVe siècle (5) sise dans le bras nord, présente un autel secondaire garni d’une statue de Saint Joseph (XIXe siècle) et d’un retable du XVIIIe siècle surmonté de pilastres à ordre corinthien et de pots à feu.
vitrail2A la croisée du transept (6), l’ensemble comprenant deux tabourets et un fauteuil de célébrant à forme dantesque est du XIXe siècle ainsi que les clochettes (bronze).

Le choeur (7) présente deux verrières signées de Sagot en 1933 et 1934:
Annonciation avec Dieu le Père, David et Haïe
Mariage de la Vierge avec Saint Joseph (une apparition, la porte d’une ville, une tour fortifiée, les tables de la loi, un chandelier à sept branches).
Au centre : le Sacré-Coeur régnant sur les nations, vitrail offert par la famille américaine Dewey au cours de la reconstruction, en souhaitant la paix entre les nations. Remarquer les écussons américains et français en haut du vitrail.

L’imposant tabernacle en marbre veiné est clos d’une porte en bronze ornée d’un agneau mystique et d’étoiles.

Au fond du choeur, une Charité de Saint Martin (statue équestre du XVe siècle) figure saint Martin encore soldat et catéchumène partageant son manteau avec un gueux.

L’ensemble du maître-autel datant du XVIlle siècle a été démonté lors des travaux d’après-guerre. Il en subsiste les lambris (remontés en partie dans la sacristie).
La face Ouest (8) a été remaniée. Le porche à triple voussures, au tympan orné d’un bas relief « la Charité de Saint Martin », est couronné de deux arcs et d’une lucarne en front de façade. La nef, remaniée en 1865, s’étend sur trois travées assises sur les fondations de l’ancienne nef du XIe siècle à vaisseau unique et appareil en épi (pierres en arêtes de poisson).

Le magnifique campanile (tour clocher) du Xle siècle (9) est isolé du reste de la bâtisse à la manière italienne.
Le choeur du Xlle siècle (10) présente sur sa muraille sud d’étranges vitrines abritant des souvenirs mortuaires, reliques ou ex-voto ouvragés de perles. Une urne funéraire est encastrée dans le mur de la chapelle Sud du choeur. Le mur est percé de lancettes géminées très simples et récentes.
La sacristie (11), construite en 1842, est accolée au chevet plat. 11 La chapelle nord date du XIV e siècle.
Têtes grimaçantes, tibias croisés, chat, tonneau soulignent l’entablement ou la corniche par leur figure monstrueuse.

La Tour clocher
Si une église était l’écrin de la présence divine, elle devait aussi le montrer. Tout l’ordre extérieur du sanctuaire concourait à cet effet.
Mais ce qui plaisait au début du second millénaire, c’était la conquête du ciel par des tours et des clochers. Ce fut une rivalité grandiose. Des immenses silhouettes devaient attirer le regard du voyageur comme celui des laboureurs dans la campagne. Par elles, Dieu se rappelait à l’attention des chrétiens.

Non loin du donjon, le clocher arborait toute la fierté de la communauté villageoise.
Voici une immense tour clocher quadrangulaire de la fin du Xlle siècle, pourvue d’un escalier du XVe siècle. Séparée du reste de la bâtisse, elle est percée de nombreux trous de boulins qui font le bonheur des pigeons. Ces trous sont des traces d’échafaudages aussi appelés « pots de colombier ». L’écart respecté entre chaque palier ci échafaudage est une hauteur d’homme.
La tour présente cinq étages, les trois derniers, en retrait par rapport aux autres, confèrent à l’édifice son profil effilé et original. On rencontre plus couramment en Bessin, des tours de trois étages construites au centre de l’église. Les deux étages inférieurs sont massifs.
La base est ornée de contreforts plats et le premier étage d’une galerie d’arcades aveugles, ornement identique à Saint-Loup Hors, Saint-André de Vierville, Saint-Pierre de Huppain et bien d’autres lieux encore en Bessin.
Les trois étages supérieurs répètent la même disposition des baies en plein cintre géminées par une colonne centrale avec un décor géométrique. La couverture est une pyramide à degrés en pierre (couronnement identique à Thaon). Comme sur la plupart des tours, la décoration et les ouvertures augmentent d’étage en étage.
LE CULTE
Messe le 22 juillet 2016 à 18h00 et chaque dimanche du 24 juillet au dimanche 13 août 2016 à 9h00.

'

Ver-sur-mer | http://www.versurmer.fr
Création du site : WebocubeWebocube, agence de design et communication à Caen